Tostadas de Lomo

On my first trip to Michoacán I had the pleasure of eating tostadas de lomo in a suburb of Zamora named Jacona. I remember when they brought me my first tostada, thinking “I’m not very hungry” and then waking up a little while later from a food induced coma and realizing that I had scarfed down three more while I was out!

There’s something about the mild spiciness of the salsas and the softness of the lomo all on top of a bed of corn tostadas, beans and crispy lettuce that I found irresistible. Long after my trip had ended and I was back in Mexico City, I found myself reminiscing about that amazing meal!

I guess my craving got the best of me yesterday because I was able to convince my partners mother to help me reproduce the recipe here at home. The results were fantastic and the flavours were exactly the same as I remembered. The recipe is so easy to do at home and definitely worth a try as an easy weekday meal or a no brainer weekend lunch.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 kilo of Lomo (pork loin)

Refried beans (used canned beans, they are easy and taste great)

1 kilo ripe tomatoes

1 onion finely diced

1 can Jalapeños in vinegar

Tostadas

Lettuce (washed and chopped into strips)

1 clove of garlic

Oregano

Salt to taste

Here’s how to do it:

Put the lomo in the pressure cooker (if you don’t have a pressure cooker; cook it on the stove top but be prepared to stand over it for quite a while), cook for 30 minutes. Meat should be tender and have lost its pink colour. Set aside to cool.

Wash all the tomatoes and place in a large pot of water to boil. This will take between 10 to 15 minutes. The tomatoes should be soft and the skins should be starting to peel away. Once cooked, place the tomatoes in a blender with a dash of course salt. liquify tomatoes with the clove of garlic. In a separate bowl empty out the can of Jalapeños, add the finely diced onion to the Jalapeño/Vinegar mixture. Add the tomato puré to the jalapeños with a 1/4 teaspoon of oregano and allow to sit at room temperature till all the other ingredients are ready. Check for salt and add more if needed.

If the meat is cool enough to handle; shred with fingers. Set aside until you’re ready to assemble the tostadas.

Wash and slice the lettuce.

Empty the contents of the can of refried beans into a pan, add a bit of water and heat thoroughly.

To assemble the tostadas:

Place a tostada in the palm of your hand, add as much of the beans as you wish and spread them all over your tostada. Add some lettuce, then some of the lomo and finally the salsa. It’s as easy as that, but too good to be true!

Since yesterday, I’ve stuffed myself nearly sick on these tostadas. The price for my gluttony has been a mild case of indigestion, but it was well worth it!

Let me know if you’ve tried Tostadas de Lomo before? Or are you going to try this recipe for the first time in your home?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

