Pueblos Mágicos – An Introduction

One of my personal goals for this blog, since it’s conception, is the promotion of an image of Mexico that is rarely (if ever) seen by the majority of people who have never been here before.

I see Mexico as so much more than its famed beaches and resorts, drug wars and Frida Kahlo. Don’t get me wrong, anyone could see that these are huge pieces of the mosaic that make up Mexico and it would be ignorant to pretend that they don’t exist.

However, the Mexico I live in, along with the other estimated 112 million habitants is a land of staggering history, cultural diversity, patriotism and heroism, reflection and beauty. It is complex and multi-layered. It has a heart and soul and it is magical! It is precisely this sense of magic that keeps me here.

Alamos, Sonora

The Secretaría de Turismo (Secretariat of Tourism), the government agency in charge of Mexico’s booming tourism industry, has since 2001 been actively promoting some of Mexico’s most magical villages. Working in cooperation with local state authorities as well as other federal agencies, the “Programa Pueblos Mágicos” has sought to promote the cultural heart and soul of this country. To date 41 towns and villages in 28 different states have been dubbed a Pueblo Mágico.

According to the Secretaría de Turismo, or SECTUR as they are known, “a Magical Village is a place with symbolism, legends, history, important events, day-to-day life – in other words “magic” in its social and cultural manifestations, with great opportunities for tourism”.

Malinalco, Estado de México. Capilla de San Pedro

So I had an idea! In keeping with my personal as well as SECTUR’s mission to promote the palpable magic of Mexico; I thought I would write down my experiences in the Pueblos Mágicos that I have been to. 7 towns and village’s in total, thus far. (Only a small percentage of the list, I know! As time and finances allow hopefully that list will grow.)

So soon to come, my perception of just a few of the Magical Towns that I have been to. My wish is that my experiences in these amazing places will inspire in you a desire to explore the magical heart and soul of this great nation.

How many of the Pueblos Mágicos have you visited? Which was your favorite and why?

2 thoughts on “Pueblos Mágicos – An Introduction

  1. You must go to Parras de la Fuente Coahuila it is such a beautiful town and of course it is on the list of “Pueblos Magicos”

    • Thank you for your comment! I’ve never had the opportunity of going anywhere in the North of Mexico. I live in DF and have traveled all over the south, but never anywhere near Coahuila. I have a friend who is from Torreon and have heard mixed reports. How are things up there????

Leave a Reply

