A day at the Viveros of Coyoacán

On friday I took a trip to the suburb of Coyoacán (more to come about this amazing suburb in the near future). While I was there I had an incredible lunch, did a little shopping and as if that wasn’t enough I ended up at one of my favorite places in the whole of Mexico City. The Viveros (Nursery) de Coyoacán is part public park and part flower/tree nursery. What I find so magical about the viveros is that it truly feels like a world apart. I live somewhere between Polanco and the corner of Traffic 24/7, so being amongst the flowers and trees and filling my lungs with the fresh air is a sweet reprieve to say the least.

According to Wikipedia the viveros sit on 38.9 hectares of land in the far west of Coyoacán and was originally established in the early 20th century in an effort at reforestation especially around Mexico City. The land was donated to the city by Mexican environmentalist Miguel Ángel de Quevedo and in 1938 was designated a national park. The viveros claim to see between 2,500 to 3,000 visitors per day.

A view of the park and jogging path.

In the nursery every plant imaginable (or at least it seems that way to me) can be found. Cacti unique to Mexico, orchids, succulents, flowers of every colour…everything you could dream of can be found there. Not to mention all the garden implements, it really is a paradise for someone with a green thumb or even someone who is learning like myself.

As a child I used to think that plants and being interested in them was for old people; judging by the joy that I get as an adult of being around all the different varieties of plants I can only conclude that I myself am now old!

Have you ever been to the Viveros de Coyoacán? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

